Saturday, October 25, 2008

»» Hey! Say! JUMP - Mayonaka no Shadow Boy

01. Mayonaka no Shadow Boy
02. School Kakumei
03. Deep night Kimi Omou
04. Mayonaka no Shadow Boy (Original Karaoke)
05. School Kakumei (Original Karaoke)
06. Deep night Kimi Omou (Original Karaoke)

This single was released on October 22nd, 2008.

Hey! Say! JUMP is a JE group of 10 boys. 10 people in a group is too much. But there is always AKB48 to remind you that in the japanese music industry there is no such thing as too many people in a musical act. Ever since Hey! Say! JUMP released their first single, which was called Ultra Music Power (JUMP stands for Johnny's Ultra Music Power), I stopped paying attention to them. The debut single was very good, but they took too long to release the second single, and when they finally did, it was totally lame. Mayonaka no Shadow Boy is their 4th single. The title song is enjoyable, but it's average. I really don't think they'll outdo Ultra Music Power anytime soon. The song has kiiiiiind of an arab (and also latin, at times) feel to it, and it starts off quite good, but the chorus is simply boring. The vocals are not worth mentioning, since they're the classic JE group, everyone sounds almost the same, chorus is sung in unison, and that's it. I'm probably going to try to find the video for this song, 'cause I've never seen a Hey! Say! JUMP video, not even Ultra Music Power.

School Kakumei is a happy song. It almost sounds like a Kirarin Revolution opening theme to me. There really isn't anything to say about this one song... Very bland.

Deep night Kimi Omou raises the bar a little bit. It sounds kind of mature, and the chorus is quite catchy. The beats in the song are pretty cool, and the vocals sound quite nice. I wish I knew the members' names and voices, 'cause I think this song is almost totally leaded by only one of them. I learned the names of all the Morning Musume girls, I probably can learn the names of these 10 kids.

Overall score: 8/10. Would be higher if School Kakumei wasn't in it.


by Sairo!